h1

Sonic Collision V2

March 29, 2011

[Nothing but fine music and links here. The commentary belongs to you. Enjoy!
Oh, wait. I take that back. Listen to the Waka Flocka Flame mix. Tell me, why (and I know I’m oversimplifying here) if this works that well, more rap producers aren’t setting their lyrics to music like that? I like the lyrics, but the beats kill it for me most of the time. Also, be prepared to add additional lyrics to your shower version of “Gimme Shelter.”]

Previous Collisions here:
The Sonic Collision Archive

The Hood Internet – Lorem Ipsum Dolor Sit Amet (Waka Flocka Flame vs. Flock of Seagulls).mp3

The Hood Internet

DJ Earworm – Gimme Freaks (Rolling Stones vs. Moguai).mp3

DJ Earworm

-CLT

6 comments

  1. I never fail to get amused looks and snickers from young African Americans when blasting this kind of music pulling up to a drive-thru window. They figure I either forgot to turn the station after dropping the teens off or my hearing aid is inoperable. It’s weird because I have no interest in the culture…just the tunes…the drummer that plays in sync with my particular rhythm.

    I hadn’t heard either of these songs and to say I love them would be an understatement. The beat “kills it” indeed. Thank you Capitalist Lion Tamer!!!!!!!!!!!!


    • Those amused looks and snickers should turn to incomprehension once you start blasting these bootleg mixes. Everything will sound familiar but just a bit off. Personally, I find mashup mixes make the rap more palatable and the best ones make me wish I was back behind the decks again, leading people back to the dancefloor with sparkly, repackaged favorites.

      You’re welcome, elizabeth. If I went through the trouble of cranking out a banner for the post, you can be assured there’s many more on the way.


  2. Normally after 14 references to the work ‘fuck’ (and it’s various derivatives) I’m done, but I found my head bobbing. Hey, but what do I know, I mean Hans Zimmer is on my iPod. Thanks for keeping me from becoming completely sclerotic musically speaking. Which reminds me to tell you to never ‘turn 50.’


    • It’s the Flock of Seagulls. It blunts the full force of all the “fucks.” And, for the record, Hans Zimmer isn’t that bad. You could have freakin’ John Williams blaring all day, fer chrissake.

      Thanks for the warning, Robert. I’ll do everything I can to avoid it. (Except die.)


  3. As you could have probably guessed, this was one of my favorites. And I got to tell you that I love the idea of a hood internet, or an internet hood. I need somewhere to bulk sell my cut down to shit dope once the percentages have been reached… on the internet too.

    What? I kid I kid.


    • If dealing drugs over the internet is really your lifelong dream, Scott, you need to move to Canada.

      From there you can safely sell us Americans all the weak ass shit we can get our hands on.



Comments are closed.

