h1

Sonic Collision Volume 1

March 24, 2011

As I threatened way back in the day (actually about a week ago), I’d be posting more mashups for your listening pleasure. After all, who doesn’t enjoy a high-quality pileup of tunes both familiar and un-? (Soulless assholes, that’s who. But none of the followers of this blog fit that category.)

So, here’s the first of what’s hoped to be many, many posts featuring some of the best bastard pop in the business.

tOtALcULt – Fire Breathing Fists (Charlie Sheen vs. Cypress Hill).mp3

Suffering from Sheen overexposure yet? Perhaps not so much? Can’t get enough cocaine wisdom?

It doesn’t really matter what you answer, because Totalcult is here with the remedy, which also happens to be part of the problem. Listen in awe/annoyance as Charlie talks smack over Cypress Hill’s weeded beats.

Via the always amazing Bootie Blog.

A+D – $20 Monday (M.I.A. vs. New Order).mp3

Speaking of the Bootie Blog, here are the hosts matching up M.I.A.’s languorous half-rap with one of the most famous dance tracks in the history of ever. M.I.A. does a little on-the-fly remixing of her own, quoting a bit of the Pixies’ “Where Is My Mind?”

More links:

Mashup Industries, home of DJ Clive$ter, Dan Mei, DJ Schmolli, KrazyBen, & Mark Johnce.

The incomparable Dave Wrangler.

The inexplicably named DJ Lobsterdust.

The mashup artist’s mashup artist: DJ Earworm.

-CLT

4 comments

  1. Oh my god, this is SO AMAZING!!! It is mind boggling what mashup artists can do…it’s like the musical version of Jackson Pollock: bold, frenzied, and electrified. You promised “many, many posts” and I am going to hold you to your word, CLT. I am LOVING this series!!


    • If the Heavy Rotation fails you, you’ll always have these to fall back on. “Many, many posts” is a promise. I’ve got 30-40 tracks lined up and I keep downloading more as often as I can.


  2. re: downloading. Where do you find all the aural goodness you share?


    • I’ve added some more links to the post, Ulysses. Also check out the Bootie Blog for tons of great mashups (see link in the above post.)

      At the bottom of HR 66: Copyright Gangbang Edition, you’ll find several more links. Culture Bully is a good place to start. Their Best of 2010 post (which is linked) contains many more links to many more mashup artists.

      Hope that helps. Happy downloading!



Comments are closed.

