h1

Top 50 Tracks of 2010: Glitter Bones – Ceremonial Secrets

December 29, 2010

4. Glitter Bones – Ceremonial Secrets.mp3

While there are a ton of consistent bands out there, there are very few consistently good bands, and there are even fewer consistently great bands.
Glitter Bones falls into the last category. I have yet to hear a track of theirs that I would kick out of bed, mentally stating, “Done that already. No need for an encore.”
Not one.

Even artists I love irrationally (the Pixies, Love & Rockets, A Place to Bury Strangers, Whitey) have released a few clunkers. Granted, their worst is still better than 90% of everything else out there, a majority of which does nothing but lie there lifelessly, forcing you to do all the work.

(Note: some of these “clunkers” do surprise me, though, altering my take on them in unexpected ways the next time they make their way through my mp3 player. Some sort of transformation takes place, not entirely unlike that mousy girl from all the movies who suddenly takes her hair down and removes her unstylish glasses, morphing into a stunner that elicits a “Hey… It’s you. I see I’ve misjudged you and that what I was looking for was under my nose the whole time.”)

Glitter Bones is all upfront devastating beauty. This track in particular (to continue winding our way down this path paved with dubious metaphors) is the stunner that steps into the bar, turning every head instantly. Even “hooked up” heads that should know better.

She (the track, remember?) glides up to the bar (glides!), simultaneously raising the hopes of every guy in the room, most of whom have already mysteriously appeared at the rail to buy here a drink.

As they gaze blankly into her vertiginous beauty, their hopes and dreams are suddenly dashed with the arrival of her boyfriend. 6’6″ if he’s an inch, carrying his carved ebony body with an otherworldly confidence, devastating in its own way.

As the throng of smaller, less attractive men suddenly look a million other directions at once while ordering Cosmos and Fuzzy Navels (for themselves, apparently) from a highly distracted bartender, her godlike boyfriend orders something manly for himself and something lightweight but incredibly complicated for her. The men who never had a chance are further devastated by the rich tone of his voice, which is as powerful as it is ear pleasing, like the voice of God’s own DJ.

That is this track.

More “out of your league” shit here.

More Glitter here.

The rest of the Top 50.

-CLT

10 comments

  1. Something invitingly strange about this group. I listened to a couple of their other works on my space and, while the chording is familiar, the dream-like state they create, along with the use of electronica, is very soothing. Not what I’d call traveling music by any means, but reading novels like “American Gods” by it would be very satisfying.

    Thanks . . . excellent group.


    • I think you’ve nailed it. American Gods is an amazing book and this would be the perfect background music. Just enough mysterious intangibles to set the mood. “Ethereal” and “blissed out” get tossed about fairly frequently these days, but this group actually inhabits those words.


    • Don’t know if you’ve ever heard of a book, “Ghost Radio” by Leopoldo Gout, but it’s quite a distinct and different novel. Since you liked American Gods, you might be interested.


    • I will definitely check that out. Thanks for the tip, Jammer.


  2. This has to be your best write-up ever, Cap. I hope to goodness someone has the wherewithal to forward this seductive and intoxicating passage to the band. I know you love this song, but you have topped the music with your writing on this one. If Glitter Bones is God’s own DJ, you are are surely his speech writer. God star for you, young man!


    • Thank you for that, elizabeth. Music tends to be very inspirational to me but it rarely escapes this fully-formed. I’ve passed it on to Glitter Bones myself via The Facebook. It’s in their hands now.


  3. *Gold


  4. Even though I couldn’t make out a single fucking word, I still kinda liked it. Gives me that late 60’s/early 70’s Drive-in Movie feel, which is usually a good sign.


    • I don’t know what’s going on with this Top 50. Perhaps it’s my techno ears, which don’t seem to find decipherable lyrics a key component of a great track.

      Don’t get me wrong, I love good lyrics. But I’m also more than happy to just enjoy the music.



Comments are closed.

