h1

Top 50 Tracks of 2010: Rick Ross – B.M.F. (Caligula Remix)

December 17, 2010

16. Rick Ross – B.M.F. (Caligula Mix).mp3

The thing about Rick Ross: he tells it like it is. Every MC is “streeter than thou,” but Ross says what everyone else keeps hoping he won’t. His delivery is so laid back it hardly seems threatening, but that’s always the case with those whose bite far outweighs their bark.

Rozay puts on another seminar in coke dealing 101. When not introducing leftfield blow slang (“I got the Archie Bunker/And it’s so white I might just charge you double“), he’s pointing out how your dealership just ain’t cutting it (“You just affiliated/I bought it ground up/You bought yours renovated“).

But what’s most disturbing to moral alarmists isn’t the random violence and drug pushing. It’s the simple truth that resonates even louder thanks to Ross’ give-a-shit laconic drawl: “My niggas/Crime pays.”

That’s dangerous.

Meanwhile, Caligula oscillates and vibrates all over the background, filling the space between the beats with electronic squiggles and unbalanced bass.

This is for my poor niggas.

This is for my rich niggas.

Got a hundred on the head of a snitch nigga.

The rest of the Top 50.

-CLT

4 comments

  1. Being an Aussie, its in my blood to applaud laid back and laconic, but these niggas are just too tough for me!


    • Awww. Look at him. He’s like a big drug-dealing teddy bear! How can you feel that threatened? I mean sure, he’s making a lot of threats lyric-wise, but doesn’t he look eminently huggable?


  2. Didn’t know Rick Ross did a duet with Pacman.

    Pacman may be of a 1980’s vintage, but at least it’s a remix of 2010 song!


    • At least I got the year right. Of course, Adam “Pacman” Jones is pretty current as well, and may have run into Ross while behind bars. (Ross, of course, being on the other side of said bars, casually waving a beat-down stick.)



Comments are closed.

