h1

Top 50 Tracks of 2010: ///▲▲▲\\\ – How They Kill You

November 30, 2010

33. ///▲▲▲\\\ – How They Kill You.mp3

If there’s symbols all over the fucking place, it can only mean one thing: it’s Witching time. ///▲▲▲\\\ (a.k.a. _v_o_i_d) takes us on a 2-minute dungeon crawl, layering menace all over a foundation of misfiring drum machines, distorted vocals and an oppressively hellish organ.

I’d say it’s not for the “faint of heart,” but if they can’t handle two minutes of this, they probably shouldn’t be out of bed, much less treading this deep into the internet.

The rest of the Top 50.

-CLT

8 comments

  1. Uh, oh. This reminded me of that time when I rolled down a hill thinking I was a ‘live wire’ while ‘hearing electricity’ after sniffing too much glue.


  2. On second thought, if they played this kind of organ music in church, I may have stayed with the flock.


    • I imagine it might be a very different sort of flock, one that wouldn’t be making many of the early services. On the other hand, black is a very easy color to coordinate, meaning last-minute prep would be rather painless.


    • This flock you speak of would be a Carnival of Souls kind of flock, I’d say.

      As this trailer shows, this is a very relevant movie reference and not just me engaging in my old B-movie fetish. But SPOILER ALERT! The trailer gives almost as much away as The French Connection poster does http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkTz0EvfEiY
      for those who want to rent the full movie or watch it here. (Although, the computer screen doesn’t really do it justice.)

      I really dig this creepy 1962 Drive-in Classic and not just because the lead actress is easy on the eyes. It’s certainly one of the best movies ever made for $33,000 and is better than most horror movies made today with a lot more money and hype behind them.


    • Why rent it? Much like the original “Night of the Living Dead,” no one bothered to keep up on the copyright (Must. Not. Rant.) so it’s available on any number of compilations for (usually) less than $10. A real bargain when you consider the horde of shitty public domain horror flicks that will be crammed on the DVD with it.


    • Oops. Sorry about that. I didn’t mean to embed the movie, just make a link to it.

      By the way, I just love those DVD compilations of B movies! I never realized it was because they had fallen into public domain. I’m sure the media motherfuckers of today have ensured even the shittiest and most embarrassing disasters they crank out today will never enter into public domain. Why? Because they can.


  3. Symbolism (and bad puns) aside, I dig this song and want to hear more.


    • Good luck with that. Google’s not real great at harvesting search results for slashes and triangles. And searching for “void” will probably get it stuck in a loop.

      I’d like to hear more but I have no idea how to find any. Maybe I’ll run into one of those cool kids of death passing out CDRs somewhere…



Comments are closed.

