h1

Top 50 Tracks of 2010: The Delta Mirror – He Was Worse Than the Needle He Gave You

November 29, 2010

34. The Delta Mirror – He Was Worse Than the Needle He Gave You.mp3

This caustic epitaph of a track fittingly wanders around the Antler’s funeral spray-covered end of the musical spectrum, chronicling a life better left unlived. The tune wears its heart on its sleeve, its pain on its chest and drags a corroded beat behind it like so many monkeys on a back already broken from hauling a compressed lifetime of emotional baggage.

In other words, quite a bit different than the dreamier pop we caught them doing last time.

More on the Mirror.

iMirrors.

The rest of Top 50.

-CLT

6 comments

  1. I’m loving this series, CLT.

    (Which, when translated to McSweeney’s language, usually means “I’m sorry, but the conceit just doesn’t grab me.”)


    • Thanks, bschooled.

      Or as McSweeney’s would say: “Thanks for giving us a look at this, but we’re going to give this one a pass.”


  2. Had to hit pause to re-read your accompanying words…it’s like a waiter brought out crème brulee when you are finishing up chocolate mousse (in my case, sensory overload, but both equally delicious).


    • Thanks for the incredibly kind words, elizabeth. I don’t think was ever compared to high-quality cuisine until you started hanging out here. I think one of my earlier prolific bursts was likened to a “Luby’s buffet that doesn’t suck,” but that’s about it.


  3. I think there is something wrong with my speakers, or my ears, because I’m up to track 34 and I’ve heard no more than about 3 lines clearly.

    Either way, this one is decent enough to be cynically sullen to. Although, the girl in the picture does look like she may have smiled within the last year. If true, that kind of ruins the numbing aesthetic of the song.


    • It’s neither. My blog broadcasts clearly to the immediate parking lot and that’s about it. You should be seeing more clarity along the back stretch when I start featuring actual song-type songs.



Comments are closed.

