h1

Top 50 Tracks of 2010: Haunted Tiger – I’m A Mummy

November 16, 2010

Haunted Tiger – I’m a Mummy.\

47. Haunted Tiger – I’m a Mummy.mp3

A sterling example of how to rewrite rock in your own image. Haunted Tiger grab ahold of garage rock with both hands, coating it with black swathes of reverb, diving headfirst into a post-Goth whirlpool that takes the “always night – all the time” aesthetic of Bauhaus (specifically Bela Lugosi’s Dead) and converts it into a half-surfer, half-zombie juggernaut.

Thus duly reanimated, the undead victim is abused under the guise of their self-proclaimed “death rock” (or Death Roxx, as their label states it). It may not be easy being undead but Haunted Tiger make it sound way, way cooler than being alive.

Haunted Tiger: also available in Facebook.

The rest of the Top 50.

-CLT

5 comments

  1. At first, I thought I was looking at Kurt Cobain resurrected (which totally made sense after reading your post). Not sure why, but this music took me back to my New College (Sarasota) days. Nice.


    • I’m not sure why the music would do that, elizabeth but I guess it’s nice that it did. With that face completely obscured, it does bear a passing resemblance to the late “savior of music,” who unfortunately couldn’t even save himself.


  2. I’ve heard this one on the radio a couple of times and I like it. This 60’s psychedelic-surf sound with zombie movie overtones puts a real smirk on my face.

    That would come as no surprise if you knew what a huge fan I was of Canada’s dearly departed Drive-In Classics channel. http://www.channelcanada.com/Article12.html Here’s a sampling of some of the hosts at work. http://www.youtube.com/user/dougascott#p/u/0/4StQoHLEnws
    Shit, I miss that channel!

    So, you can see why this track appeals to me.


    • Well, we’re at 2 or 3 out of 25 or so at this point, so I’m willing to switch my modifier of “success” from “tentative” to “almost rousing.”

      I type this knowing full well that the use of the word “rousing” will bring some sort of speculative statement as to my sexual orientation and/or latent desires to pleasure anonymous commenters.


    • Try not to get “roused” prematurely. Jumping ahead of yourself may be temptingly pleasurable, but most audiences don’t appreciate it and won’t come back for more.

      Here. Let me help you hold off. I’ve jumped ahead on the list a bit and noticed a couple that don’t belong and you’ll be hearing about later.

      There. I hope that helped to keep you from knocking over your glass of milk in a fit of over-excitement.



Comments are closed.

