h1

Heavy Rotation Vol. 43 – OMG! Edition

May 9, 2010

It’s Sunday after all, and with the willful misreading of the Bible still fresh in our minds, what could be more appropriate than a fistful of tracks dealing with the Main Man himself, or as I like to call him: “The Second Set of Footprints.”

This week’s edition deals with numbers 6 and 7, as portrayed by the varied musical stylings of  some choice number 5’s. (If you need clarification on this, please check with Fundamental Jelly, who knows all sorts of stuff, but this specifically is right down his heavily-photographed alley.)

Previous non-denominational volumes found here:
The Heavy Rotation Archives

Current 93 – Anyway, People Die.mp3
Current 93 have cornered the market on apocalyptic death-folk, mostly by running unopposed. As the band has soldiered on (and by band, I really just mean lead singer David Tibet), they have headed much more into the folk territory than the death part. This 1991 track, however, sees them splashing around in the deeper end of the death pool.

Musings on life, humanity and the omniscient figure of Christ get layered over a foundation of murky ambient-industrial. It’s bleak and brutal, in the way that truth can sometimes be.

Wolfgang Press – Christianity.mp3
With teeth and fists clenched, the Wolfgang Press deliver an incisive diatribe on the hypocrisy of God’s self-appointed middlemen over some stark electronics, going from spoken word ranting to backup vocalist crooning as the spirit (anti-spirit?) moves them.

The music’s reserved edge meshes well with the preternatural calm of the delivery, projecting the kind of strangulated anger that makes you feel the lead singer is this close to going home and cleaning his gun.

My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult – Kooler Than Jesus (edit).mp3
Chicago’s Thrill Kill Kult would like to remind you that a frank discussion of religion need not be all austere restraint and po-faced wordsmithery. Sometimes all you need is a bolder-than-the-Beatles statement and an assload of danceable groove.

Doing what they do best (and consequently, what their label Wax Trax! does best), TKK puts a sacrilegious spring in your step and a heretical song in your heart.

Army of Lovers – Crucified.mp3
There’s only one way to describe this track (and it’s probably not the word that first springs to mind…):

FUN.

Sure, the word “fun” gets overused but take a listen and you’ll come to the same conclusion. What’s not to like? A full-on Euro-disco propulsion system pushes more camp than a forest full of Boy Scouts while the uplifting female vocalists gleefully throw themselves on the cross, accompanied by the duelling swordsmen’s casual French/Hebrew wordplay.

If this doesn’t put a ridiculous smile on your face and the lead in your pencil, well, good lord, man… There’s just no hope for you.

Orbital – Satan (Industry Standard Version).mp3
Well, you can’t talk about God without bringing this guy into the picture. Without him, god and man are mostly nothing. Orbital pays their respect with huge, crunching beats, time-stretched Satanic invocations and a brilliant sample from the Butthole Surfers to get the whole thing kicked off.

-CLT

18 comments

  1. You know why I enjoy this kind of blog entry? Because I own approximately 5 CDs; I play them over and over. They’re sonic wallpaper. They keep my brain ticking along. Then, I read something like this and, for a moment, I entertain the notion of new music.


    • Well, if entertaining the notion of new music is your thing, then stop by here every Sunday. You should be able to entertain this notion for 20-25 minutes a week this way.

      Thanks for the visit, Lisa.


  2. I wish the music reviews that were published in our (less than esteemed) publications over here were written like this – so colourful and lively! And actually a far more informative read.
    From this collection I’m guessing you would love The Tiger Lillies? “Banging in the Nails” (about Jesus being crucified) would have fit right in with this list!


    • Thanks very much for the compliments, Ruby. I wish more publications actually covered music at this point in time. But most supposed “music” magazines would rather interview stars/starlets and push cologne than actually cover anything interesting.

      And do we really need another article on Lady Gaga/Vampire Weekend/bids for respectability by outdated bands?

      I’ve not heard that track but I’ll be looking that up now. Sounds like just the sort of thing I’d be all over.

      Thanks for the tip and the comments, Ruby. Great to see you again.


  3. Hellbound heathens on a popsicle stick. I came here expecting to bless my morning with some Amy Grant or get my day a-rocking with some of that Creed guy. Or maybe even rock out to that kind of hot, but you can tell she’ll be nasty in another 10 years Evanescence chick. But I didn’t find any of that…I found this….And although I loved it, especially the Wolfgang Press, the Army of Lovers, and the Thrill Kill Kult, I’m not a happy bunny.

    I’d like to file a complaint. I’ll need the phone number, URL, and email address of this Fundamental Jelly. Why even his name makes him sound like an evilutionist!


    • Sorry to disappoint you with the lack of hot Grant-on-Stapp action, Scott. Even without the hot-or-not qualities of that Evanescence chick, I’m hoping that the various affronts to God presented here will at least convince you to give this mysterious Jelly fellow a stay of execution/lawsuit.

      Thanks for stopping by, Scott. I’ve linked the URL for easier harassment.


  4. Couldn’t finish listening to Current 93, CLT. I guess for the same reason I cross the street if a juggalo or Goth heads my way. As much as 93 made me cringe, I loved Wolfgang Press and was also thoroughly entertained by the irreverence of Army of Lovers. Nice to expand my horizon beyond Marilyn Manson (who, strangely enough, I like). In some ways, you are like a jeweler who masterfully cleaves, brutes, cuts and painstakingly manipulates facets. Sure, I’m full of inclusions and my ‘coloring’ leans more toward a ‘pissy yellow’, but it’s still nice to throw in my two cents along with your other ‘VS1’ commenters who are far more knowledgeable in the musical arena.


    • Good lord (I suppose), e3h! If David Tibet weren’t such a waifish hippie, I’d imagine he’d cross the street just to confront you about your casually linking him to the likes of Goths (gasp!) and juggalos (the horror!).

      I’m glad you were able to stomach (peristalsis in full operation) the other tracks, especially the Army of Lovers track which remains near and dear to my apparently closeted heart.

      Thanks for tossing your two cents in, e3h. Don’t worry about any lack of knowledge. I never judge anyone and as for my commenters, they rarely do it out loud.

      P.S. I believe that “pissy yellow” is sold under the name “champagne.”


    • I wiki’d Current 93 and came across these selections from their discography:

      Dogs Blood Rising
      Nightmare Culture
      In Menstrual Night
      Swastikas for Noddy
      The Menstrual Years
      Hitler as Kalki
      Lucifer Over London
      SixSixSix: SickSickSick

      I’m a wuss when it comes to ghoulish, sanguinary themes and obsessions. I’m still scared, Tamer.


    • I had a dream last night about a Goth kid I befriended at Blockbuster ten years ago. I relied on him to recommend all the latest quirky, indie films as we had the exact same taste. When you work in psychiatry, you have to have a very high threshold for aberrant behaviour. I never cross the road for anyone. I embrace all. Had to share that as my humor can be oblique.


  5. I have to admit I felt a little conflicted listening to this edition of HR, CLT.

    While I enjoyed all of these to the point where I added them to my “must download when I figure out how the hell to navigate through iTunes” list, I couldn’t get the thought out of my head that this wasn’t the type of Gospel music my Mom was talking about, when she said I should just open my mind and give it chance.

    Still, what she doesn’t know won’t cause her to go into sudden cardiac arrest…

    Fantastic selections as always, CLT.


    • Good luck with the ipod and your mother’s impending cardiac arrest, bschooled. Conversely, you could point out that if she’d just open her mind, this could be the gospel music she never knew she wanted.

      Thanks for the compliment and visit, bschooled.


  6. ‘Army of Lovers’ told me “file not found”… what is this BestFancyBuyPlans?!?! That was a weird set tonight. I was really enjoying the story and progression they told, (while listening in order; that is until the error). All in all, you find the best tunes and I’m glad you take the time to share.


    • That link should be fixed, or at least, it seems to be working now.

      It was a weird set, but whenever I try to tie things together themewise, I still end up all over the place.

      I love the music, RR and I always love to share.


  7. Thank you for this valuable post. It changed my approximation


    • Thank you, too, Business Man, whose URL I have altered into an internet black hole.

      I’m glad this valuable post could aid you in approximating an actual commenter, rather than just a faceless piece of spam.


  8. Because of that pesky Cushing Case, I am late to the party yet again, please pardon that slight.

    I agree with Ruby, you really have a way of writing about music. I know compliments don’t pay the bills, but there you have it.

    Thanks for the shout out.


    • Oh, that Cushing! I sincerely hope you nailed down the titular cad and served him some photographic justice.

      Thanks for the compliments, which I will gladly take in lieu of cash, FJ. And you’re welcome for the shoutout. Any friend of the Pixies is a friend of mine.



Comments are closed.

