h1

Heavy Rotation Vol. 41 – Arguably Less Familiar To Millions But Still Recommended (Especially to the Cool Kids of Death)

April 25, 2010

This was the night went it all went haywire
Spun records by strobelight
Set cars on fire
Fed E to the goths just to force a smile
Drug em off the walls
Just to dance for awhile
Watch em trade their black for bright new day-glo
Write self-prescriptions
Trade dope for yayo
Big ideas float on waves of bass
Dub cuts Wax Trax
Out of Space
Out here on the dancefloor
It’s assholes with elbows
Tweaked-up punks
Tweaked-out emos
Cuttin up records with a disco sawzall
Manic depressives
Gettin high on Midol
Flashes of talent
Disco biscuits
Marxist tomboys
Pancaked Misfits
Pasted-on grins from too much X
Sweaty bodies
Faceless sex
When it’s all over there’s nothing left but trash
Used up men count up piles of cash
Played out players look to cut and run
Embrace the darkness
Beat the sun

Now all it needs is a beat. Oh. There’s some.

More beats – MC CLT = A Better Overall Experience (Which Awaits You on the Offworld Colonies, Which Are Located Behind the Blue Link Below):
The Heavy Rotation Archives

War – Low Rider (DJ Kue Mix).mp3
Kue grabs ahold of a verbal sample and some of the best drum bits and, after a chopped and flanged drop, brings in a wobbly, drunk-off-its-ass bassline. The end result? A War built for dancing. Like when the Jets met the Sharks, only without all that Romeo/Juliet baggage.

Joy Division – She’s Lost Control (Tronik Youth Shredit Edit).mp3
Tronik Youth gazes at Joy Division’s insanity plea and sees their undervalued rhythm section as a jumping off point, bringing an industrial edge to the proceedings. Shredding the vocals and running the track through an electro chop shop, Tronik Youth finally drags the metallic carcass, clanking and screaming, to the dancefloor. Or as close to the dancefloor as its faulty electronics will allow.

Buzz buzz glitch. Buzz buzz bang bang bang.

DeathSet – Negative Thinking (Treasure Fingers Remix).mp3
Treasure Fingers lays down the law on these shouty, punky misfits, confining them to their immaculately remixed room. Still as singalongable as ever, Treasure Fingers retains the sweaty urges and colorful language of the original while adding layers of restraint and muted color, dressing the boys up in robotic Sunday best and presenting them to the world as well-rounded, if occasionally profane, individuals.

Slayer – Raining Blood (Sexistalk Remix).mp3

I went to a rave and a mosh pit broke out.

Totally. Well, it was mainly amped-up pogoing.

I know.

Best rave ever!!! 

Pixies – Where Is My Mind? (Bassnectar Remix).mp3

Pixies Remix Club Rules
1. You do not fuck with a classic.
2. YOU. DO NOT. FUCK. WITH A CLASSIC.
3. If someone does fuck with a classic, taps out or adds a limp 4/4 and calls it good, they will be mocked and derided and their electricity cut off.
4. One remixer per remix.
5. One remix at a time.
6. Clothing optional. (?)
7. The remix will go on as long as it has to.
8. If it’s your first remix, start somewhere else. Maybe with any of the millions of lesser bands out there.

Bassnectar follows the rules. He toughens up Steve Albini’s already “not pussy” drums and throws in some nice buzzing noises.  Good stuff.

Here’s a bonus for everyone still playing. And when I say “everyone,” I of course mean mainly FJ, who routinely makes Pixies references when not being praised for his Lynchian qualities.

Pixies – The Thing (Allez Allez Bootleg Mix).mp3

Oh, and the Cool Kids of Death? Just a rather nice St. Etienne track, which unfortunately doesn’t live up to its menacing name, but then again, what possibly could?

-CLT

15 comments

  1. My Sunday did not begin until I heard the Low Rider mix. My shoulders almost popped out of their sockets and my entrails got a good jostling which revved up my peristalsis.

    The tronic youth remix Joy Division gives a whole new meaning to ‘garage band’…sounds like a bunch of musically talented mechanics doing their rendition of Stomp at a body shop and doing it very well (okay, the phrase ‘tronic youth remix’ was mentioned by my daughter…I’m not that savvy…but, the rest was mine).

    Death Set: just think, somewhere in the Universe, people talk like that (btw, are they saying “fuck this? fuck that?”)

    Had to cut Sexistalk remix short due to ‘fickle nervous system’ (but, I held in there longer than Don Mills would have)

    Where is My Mind — I ask myself that every single day

    Pixies — I may post a YouTube vid of me dancing to this

    Rock-ass, rock-on, CLT

    P.S. You are GOD in my daughters eyes (they are familiar with 95% of your selections and are grateful you are ‘educating’ me)


    • Glad we were there to get your digestive system working, e3h. It just one of the many services that we apparently offer.

      Very, very nice description of the Tronik Youth sound. I couldn’t have said it better myself, which you may have noticed when I resorted to onomatopeia.

      The Death Set song reads thusly:

      If I felt cynicism, I’d wrap it in a blanket
      Of discontentment
      Fuck that
      I feel better knowing that I decided not to
      When you were looking round
      You veered to the right
      Did you notice that?
      And I feel better knowing that I decided not to

      In hindsight, I don’t want to be like the people I’ve liked

      Slayer ain’t for everybody. At least that’s what the headbangers told me before they kicked my ass and took my wallet. Now I understand why they all have theirs on chains…

      Looking forward to your Youtubery, e3h. Nothing better than an ode to UFO landings crossed with an interpretive dance. Should go viral damn near immediately.

      P.S. I’m only a minor deity, but I did have the audacity to claim the most well-known holy day to spread the musical gospel according to CLT.


  2. That. Was. Awesome!
    I felt like I was in the Caribbean, then found my way into the industrial part of town, went to Hell, woke up in the back of a Z-28 on a Saturday night and finished with a bang-o-beano-wallop-whazza-twink. I think I hurt myself on that last one.


    • Hahaha!!! Beautiful description. I couldn’t have said it better myself (and with that, I should probably stop saying that I couldn’t have said it better myself, or I may just have to go into the business of posting tunes on a blank page…)

      Slayer = Z-28. Perfect.


  3. This is a mighty fine selection as always CLT. My top two were the The Pixies and Joy Division. Because I’m all about the losing of the control, especially if it’s done by a she.

    The Slayer brought back memories of a youth spent alternating between metal and rap and never understanding how I could love both so much.


    • The Pixies and JD are old-skool altrock heroes. Nothing bad can be said about them and, fortunately, those remixing didn’t cock it all up.

      As for your youth: you must have been ecstatic when forward-looking bands like Korn and Limp Bizkit decided to add it all up.

      That’s really not fair. I’m taking that all back. No one I know and respect should be associated with those “bands.” Maybe Crazytown, but not those two.)


  4. So I took your advice from last time and opened a couple of tracks in new tabs while I continued to ‘surf around’, and was sitting there thinking, fuck this is awful, and wondering how I might be able to put that politely, when my ever wonderful muso/DJ/Producer boyfriend came and informed me that I was listening to them all at once. So, in case you’re wondering, the CLT remix selection mashed up, sounds really shit.
    I went back and listened to JD, on its own, as I totally agree they have an undervalued rhythm section, thought the remix was pretty interesting. Did you see the film Control?


    • Well, there’s really no way to put “fuck, this is awful” politely. Maybe use the word “interesting,” spoken very slowly…

      I should really put a disclaimer up top with some instructions. One at a time is preferable. Two, if you’re feeling creative. Three if you hate your speakers. And five, if you want people to question your sanity first and your musical taste second.

      I have not seen Control, but it’s on the humongous Netflix list. If I’m ever going to wear that thing down, I’ve got to stop clicking two or three times on the “Recommended” popups.


    • Haha! Don’t worry, RTS, I did that once.

      Oddly enough, even with all the tracks going off at once, it still sounded better than Nickelback.


  5. My obsession with always having to “pick a favorite,” is seriously going to be the death of me.

    Tough call CLT, but I think Kue has my heart this week.

    (I reserve the right to waffle on my decision periodically throughout the next six days.)


    • Kue is a sweetheart. Of course, the deck is stacked as Low Rider is funky as hell to begin with. But he brings the funk+, which now equals funk squared (funk x funk).

      Go ahead and waffle all you want. Each visit gets me one more Pageview, which can then be converted to Wordville Cash. I can then use this other near-worthless form of currency to buy things for my blog, like a new gigantic avatar. Or a Mafia cow.

      Either way, when you hear the message go out,

      “CLT needs help finding more funny in Blogville.”

      please answer immediately with one of your fantastic comments.


    • Haha!

      When you win, I win, CLT. I truly believe that not only would blogs like yours share their bounty with blog-friends (because there’s no way they could use all of it themselves!), they would even throw in a virtual quiche or two, depending on the day.


  6. Well, I am just sitting here in Apartment 26 listening to your lastest offering and I must say I loved it all, but the two Pixies remixes were mighty fine for sure, thanks for that little nugget CLT…I owe you one my brother.

    Sorry for being late to the party, but I’ve been in a bad mood for a couple of days…this helped. Thanks.


    • FJ, it wasn’t a party until you showed up. I knew you’d dig those the most, so I threw an extra one in for you.

      If there’s a mood out there that the Pixies can’t improve, I haven’t suffered from it yet. Here’s hoping you make a swift recovery and get back in the saddle, or whatever that phrase breaks down to photographically.


  7. […] speaker setting may vary), opening with a metallic-edged breakbeat not too far removed from Tronik Youth’s productions. It settles into something more befitting the title though, and heads for the “dreamy” […]



Comments are closed.

