h1

Heavy Rotation Vol. 39 – (Almost) Familiar to Millions Edition

April 11, 2010

There comes a time in every DJ’s life when he looks around the dancefloor and sees it’s time to slap the dancers upside the head (musically-speaking). At this point, he will root around in the bag and find something guaranteed to both a.) move asses and b.) appeal to the largest cross-section.

Voila! The remix. If done well, it becomes a go-to track. If not, there’s always tomorrow night, or next week or whenever.

These are done well.

Slightly undercooked, but still tasty:
The Heavy Rotation Archives

Still not enough music? Check out Hidden Leaves’ Friday throwdown, in case you’re still trying to sober up/drown out the voices/finish reading the 5,800 word article on quantum physics. A few weeks back saw Ulysses indulging his SWPL-esque rap fetish and following weeks have seen artists as diverse as Charles Mingus and skatepunkers The Saints.

Led Zeppelin – Immigrant Song (Dirty Funker Remix).mp3
The mysterious Dirty Funker comes from the UK, a mystical place where thousands of people gather in boggy fields and dance until NME announces the “next big thing.” Whoever he is, DF does some amazing mixes, rerubbing everyone from Metallica to Nirvana to Michael Jackson to the White Stripes.

This one goes large, approximating Bonham’s thunder with a brutal 808 and spinning dials back and forth for maximum effect. Tuff, danceable and huge.

White Stripes – Seven Nation Army (Adam Freeland Mix).mp3
Last week’s fan favorite returns to win your hearts, minds and organs beyond with his thumping take on the White Stripe’s already pretty thumping Seven Nation Army. The real fun is the pitchshifting tweakery on Jack White’s low-slung guitar work, which gives the track a nicely discombobulating feel.

Guns & Roses – Welcome to the Jungle (Dirty Dub Hole Mix).mp3
Well, with variety being the spice of life and all, here’s another solid mix by Dirty Funker, this time under the charming Dirty Dub Hole moniker. Lest you mistake my attempted metaphor-mixing for a pan of this track, be advised that it does kick serious amounts of ass on several levels, not the least of which is the all the panning going on inside, which flows nicely with the faux-power kill effects.

Yep. That should make it all crystal clear. Just listen.

Blur – Song #2 (Edu K Remix).mp3
Perhaps the most gregarious of Blur’s tunes, Song #2 seemed to be their Creep, the kind of inescapable hit that has all the frat boys mouthing your words and the all the sorority girls mouthing the frat boys.

So Ed Banger artist Edu K does what anyone with his talent would do: BANG BANG BANG BANG. Takes a bad song and makes it badder. If you thought all that woo-hooing was played out, well, you just ain’t heard it like this before. (Truth be told, most of the annoying “woo-hoo” has been removed and replaced with large doses of distorted, pitchshifted samples and banging dancefloor drums.)

CCR – Fortunate Son (Streetlab Remix).mp3
Good ol’ Creedence. Lebowski knows what I’m talking about. NYC electronic duo Streetlab have an inordinate amount of fun, taking this classic rock staple and getting it all pimped up and ready for the floor. Lots of pitching, shifting and knob twiddling of the non-sexual type.

Go hit up their website. They’ve got a whole album full of remixes (Pet Shop Boys, Beastie Boys, ZZ Top, Led Zeppelin) available for the low, low price of one email address.

Bonus track: (Just listen.)

O.M.G.

Well, I hope you enjoyed them all. That last track was, of course, J.D. remixed by Database. If you wish to have this piece of Americana tainting your hard drive, go ahead and right-click on the O.M.G. to download it.

– CLT

[All music posted on Fancy Plans… is kick ass and too awesome to be contained. All music is also posted temporarily and, due to its high level of ass-kicking, should not be distributed without a prescription and care should be taken while operating heavy equipment or dancing around the living room (clothing optional, but do remember that the blinds are open/kids are still awake).
Should you wish to have your brilliant artistic statement forced back into confinement, please email me at 2timegrime@gmail.com. Feel free to leave a comment, as that will probably be noticed sooner.
By all means, if you like what you hear (and you will), please support the totally rocking artist(s) by purchasing some music or heading out to see them live.]
21 comments

  1. It’s like Christmas morning!

    I love all of these, especially The White Stripes (who, btw, are already in my “lifetime top ten”)mix, and Dirty Funker.

    It’s like the perfect mesh of every music phase I’ve ever been in since childhood (starting with CCR, thanks to the parentals).

    Thx, CLT, for yet another kickass post that I’m linking to my desktop faves.


    • Yay! Xmas in April! Just like Grandma thinks she remembers it!

      I didn’t really expect to touch on the history of rock & roll, it just kind of ended up that way. Dirty Funker (whoever the hell he is) does some damn fine remixes. I’ve got more up my sleeve that I may fire off in the upcoming HRs.


  2. Thanks for the love, CLT! I’m only a cheap copy of your throw downs though. It’s not live, it’s Memorex.


    • There’s nothing cheap about it. Your taste covers a lot of bases, which is something everyone could use more of.

      Until you decide to go live, Memorex is fine. If it’s good enough for that dude with the sunglasses and the recliner, it’s good enough for me.


  3. Man, that is not at all what I thought Jesus (it is Jesus, right?) was going to pull out of his bag. I thought that um… ‘package’ was supposed to be here by now. WTF Jesus, let’s get this party started right.

    I obviously love the Zeppelin remix. I have a suspicion that the notoriously secret DF’er is really Prince William. (We’ll talk about it later, after I quiet the voices.)

    The White Stripes are always good for some great tunes, backstage fights and a possible Taboo #19 cameo.

    Then you add GNR, CCR, and Blur. This may have been your best ‘mixed tape’ so far CLT. If I were a chick, I would so do you … Woo Hoo!!!


    • I occasionally go by “Jesus,” but only during major religious holidays when it’s most exploitable. Otherwise I get stuck performing street miracles.

      I would love to discuss this so-called “Dirty Funker” just as soon as I sober up and hit publish on my quantum physics paper.

      Thanks for the sexual props, Scott. Great to see you.


  4. I like these CLT, shit, now I forgot which I liked the best…back to listening. Sweet, don’t stop…DJ Captain, My DJ Captian.


    • When it’s all good, it’s all good, as the kids say. Nothing like repetition in the music, FJ. The Fall were all over it.


  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by RIP Michael Jackson. RIP Michael Jackson said: Heavy Rotation Vol. 39 – (Almost) Familiar to Millions Edition: There comes a time in every DJ’s life when he l… http://bit.ly/bVEmVl #MJ […]


  6. Oh my God I better come back on Friday night for this


    • It’s a great night for dancing. But save your energy as a new seleciton of tunes will be hitting this blog on Sunday.


  7. It’s one am here. I’ve worked 55 hours this week and I have 17 more working hours before I get a day off. I have to be to work in 8 hours, but yet… here I am… and I’m happy to be here!


    • Hooray!

      Nothing like some danceable music to take the edge off an overly-long week. It’s just as effective even if you can’t move anything more than the glass to your mouth.


  8. I know, (or maybe I don’t) that when fans turn against the tide they are killed, but those mixes kind of left me motionless.


    • Sorry to hear that, RR, but as the intro stated “there’s always next week.”

      Too bad you won’t be alive to enjoy it.


  9. Powerful Break,when worry shape final eat account least also speed possible state simple cause especially corner evening animal program difficult death day organisation aye accident love offer aim choice existence link sometimes from basic public arrive step central winner because by pocket very bloody straight membership try chain currently fall movement small present still colleague per meanwhile welfare negotiation married circumstance introduction remove male need influence jump eye roof desire search primary die teach inside total statement thank again package key welfare collect deputy sea even deputy essential opinion


    • Take note of this, fellow bloggers. This is high-quality spam, hand-drawn from a sparkling stream of consciousness.

      I like it. In fact, I like it so much that I’m going to start tossing my dictionary (that includes the rhyming one) into some sort of Google-powered electric blender and pouring the contents onto my virtual pages as brand new content.

      Bravo, acai berry etc. I will indeed “collect deputy sea” as often as possible, especially “deputy essential opinion.”

      Oh, I took the liberty of removing your spammy URL and replacing it with something more appropriate.

      Cheers.


  10. […] 8, 2010  Acai Berry Diet Pill in Stores on the subject of popular music, especially dance mixes thereof: Powerful Break,when worry shape final eat account least also speed possible state simple cause […]


  11. Can’t believe I missed this post (and with references to quantum mechanics to boot)! This posted right around the time I moved…had to shut my balcony doors for this pulsing selection. It’s 5:30 am and everyone but me and my psycho neighbor are probably asleep (you know, the intoxicated one who slashed his face on his balcony several weeks ago while attired in a black fedora and green metallic boxer shorts, poured his blood in water bottles and was hauled off for an involuntary psych eval after Las Vegas police stormed our high-rise with guns drawn thinking he may have killed someone [yes, he’s back and he is the last person I want to agitate]).

    Any of these songs I would be proud to blast from my tricked out SUV while cruising Las Vegas Blvd in the middle of the night. Thank goodness I would be driving too, or I might end up like the black woman I saw recently who shoved and shook her big butt up against the windshield while on all fours in the passenger seat ‘seat dancing’ (I think Jay-Z was cranking). All songs were ‘in sync’ with my Type A internal beat (loved White Stripes…all 9 minutes of them and especially LOVED Blur — thanks for the intro…I’m going to give that selection a second whirl tomorrow!). All in all, I think this was my favorite Heavy Rotation by far.

    BTW, the rolling chair is working out nicely and Scott’s comments were hilarious.


    • Belated welcome to the past, e3h. Must have something to do with all your dabbling in quantum physics (or as we refer to them here in the Midwest: “the black arts”).

      Feel free to blast these from your SUV, whose ability to remain in motion should allow you to agitate friends/neighbors/phychotic bottle fillers while providing you with a safety outlet.

      “Leave the motor running. I’m pissing off the neighbors!”

      Enjoy your new chair and yes, Scott’s comments were hilarious. I used his last line to devastating effect at a recent Tamer family reunion.


  12. […] bearing the unlikely URL of http://thepenismadeoutofspam.wordpress.com/, and inspired by this unsettling spam comment, has been erected… so to speak. It is my intention (which is usually much, much greater than my […]



Comments are closed.

