h1

Heavy Rotation Vol. 33

February 21, 2010

Time being of the essence and all that, here’s a fairly brief Heavy Rotation which I hope will tide you over until my routine expansiveness returns. You’ll still get five outstanding tracks, but with way less of the “witty” banter and “insightful” critiquing that you’ve come to expect.

Feeling nostalgic? Check out the:
Heavy Rotation Archives

A Place to Bury Strangers – In Your Heart (Cereal Spiller Remix).mp3
Remember how I’m always going on and on about how A Place to Bury Strangers is my new favorite band?

No?

Maybe I’m thinking of Whitey. Or you are.

Anyway, they are. They are like the Jesus and Mary Chain + My Bloody Valentine + a fuckload of noise. So: fun. This remix, however, charms the hell out of the noisy New Yorkers and takes them on a laidback and melodic spin dangerously close to the dancefloor.

Paul Dempsey – Ramona Was A Waitress (Faux Pas Remix).mp3
Faux Pas shakes up a fellow Antipodean’s tune about life, the universe and everything and turns it into something resembling a Gary Numan track making love to some sort of wonderful thing made out of flanging and phasing. Couldn’t be more pleasant and agreeably hummable.

Plus Faux Pas himself is an all-around good guy who actually stopped by here and corrected just one of my many factual errors. And he called me “Big Ears,” which I have chosen to believe is a compliment.

Cold Cave – Love Comes Close.mp3
Straight out of Rocky’s hometown by way of Manhattan comes this new synthpop combo, whose M.O. is making fucking good tracks that sound like all the best things from the early 80’s, namely early New Order, Clan of Xymox and Echo & the Bunnymen. How can you say “no” to that?

Simian Mobile Disco – Audacity of Huge (Dada Life Remix).mp3
From out of England (as is the case with most fine dance music – except when it comes out of France), SMD bring their disco strut to this track, which posits the age old complaint – “I’ve got it all, but I don’t have you.”

The difference here are the tongue-thru-cheek lyrics, which name drop everything from PM Dawn, Peter Tosh to Minidiscs and, notably, a “biodiesel dirigible.” Fun, fun, fun and all done with the swaggering overconfidence that says, “Hand me that yardstick so I can measure my cock.” Highly recommended.

PNAU – With You Forever (Fear of Tigers Mix).mp3
PNAU, whom we last heard front-mouthing for the Groove Armada on their blistering single “Warsaw,” turns in this blissfully melancholic track which cruises gorgeously into your forebrain, thanks to the incredibly sure production of Fear of Tigers.

[All music posted on Fancy Plans… is kick ass and too awesome to be contained. All music is also posted temporarily and, due to it’s high level of ass-kicking, should not be distributed without a prescription and care should be taken while operating heavy equipment or dancing around the living room (clothing optional, but do remember that the blinds are open/kids are still awake).
Should you wish to have your brilliant artistic statement forced back into confinement, please email me at 2timegrime@gmail.com. Feel free to leave a comment, as that will probably be noticed sooner.
By all means, if you like what you hear (and you will), please support the totally rocking artist(s) by purchasing some music or heading out to see them live.]

-CLT

13 comments

  1. I loved each and every selection tonight with exception to the last track. It made me want to bathe in pudding.


    • PNAU loves its pudding-bathing fans. They prefer them to the Strangers fans, who often bathe in blood (some of it their own).


  2. Oh wait, I just got it… Patrick Dempsey’s brother… of course!


    • Of course!

      They can’t all be washed-up actors…


  3. Since you’re my new music guru, I am going to listen to all of these again and then get back to you.


  4. Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you! I got crazy feet listening, and that first was a great flashback out of a good Talking Heads gene pool. You are the master!


    • Thanks very much, Dan. Nothing wrong with swimming in that gene pool.


  5. […] Heavy Rotation Vol. 33 « Fancy Plans… and Pants to Match "This remix, however, charms the hell out of the noisy New Yorkers and takes them on a laidback and melodic spin dangerously close to the dancefloor." (tags: aptbs remix) var addthis_pub = ''; var addthis_language = 'en';var addthis_options = 'email, favorites, digg, delicious, myspace, google, facebook, reddit, live, more'; Posted by ernie on Tuesday, February 23, 2010, at 6:12 am. Filed under Uncategorized. Follow any responses to this post with its comments RSS feed. You can post a comment or trackback from your blog. […]


  6. I really loved the Cold Cave, and I’ve always been a fan of burying strangers in my heart. Or in the backyard if the neighbors are on vacation. So those are two winners right off the bat.

    A fine selection as always CLT. I really want to see if you can make a buck off all your hard work.


    • Ha!

      Stupid strangers. Always wandering around the yard, all unburied and paranoid.

      I’m still looking in to that. I’m not sure how many of the artists I feature sell thru Amazon, but I would imagine Beatport and the like would round out the selection.


  7. Okay I dug these selections, but liked ‘A Place to Bury Strangers’ the best. Nice rotation.


    • Thanks, FJ. That one’s definitely a keeper and the synth work keeps making me feel like it wouldn’t be completely strange to hear Neil Tennant singing instead.



Comments are closed.

