h1

Heavy Rotation Vol. 26 – Pop Tarts and Retro Night

December 6, 2009

Heading back to the pop end of the spectrum as a palate-cleanser after last week’s weed-and-uppers bender. After spending what seems like hours with unfocused proto-metalheads and their paranoia, it’s time to head back to the future (the present) and stroll around in the past (by way of some artists of the present who are hard at work on the future of music). 

This will all become clearer as the music starts. Let’s let a little light in here.

That’s better. Your eyes will adjust. So will your ears.

Previous adjustments available here:
The Heavy Rotation Archives

Annie – Chewing Gum (Mylo Mix)
Blonde and Norwegian as hell, Annie hit the pop scene in 1999, as the Kylie Minogue it was “cool” to like. (This was up until Kylie became the Kylie it was “cool” to like, with the release of Can’t Get You Out of My Head. Danni still remains mostly unlikeable. She’s like an Ashlee Simpson.)

A saucy little pop tune, about disposable boys who can be tossed aside like chewing gum once the “flavor is gone,” is toughened up by the production of Mylo, who gives it a little more bass swagger and some thumping kick drum.

Enjoyable as a brisk walk in the altogether and nearly as memorable. (The police will “remember” it permanently in that ever-swelling file of yours.)

Goldfrapp – Ooh La La
Alison Goldfrapp, the Annie it’s still “cool” to like, makes some truly sensual synthpop with impeccable production values. Ooh La La invites you to “dial up her number” and “switch her on.” Who are you to say no?

No. Seriously. Who the fuck do you think you are? Listen to the breathy, seductive voice. Listen to the galloping, lithe backbeat. That infectious chorus rising over some buzzing synths and guitar-tweakery.

And then there’s the drop. Removing everything but some bass rumble and spare handclaps, bringing Ms. Goldfrapp’s “voice that raised a thousand tent poles” to the front.

You won’t be saying no.

Late Nite Tuff Guy – Changes
Late Nite Tuff Guy, aka House Master Cam, aka Carmelo Bianchetti, takes a throwaway Gary Numan track (from 1989’s Automatic) and turns it into a low-key house monster.

Hailing from Australia but following the Italo-House blueprint of his forefathers, DJ HMC tuffens up Numan’s electro with some 808 drums, some quavering synths and a bassline that wouldn’t seem out of place during disco’s mutation in house music.

Compares favorably to proto-house classics like Cerrone’s Supernature or Laid Back’s White Horse and wouldn’t seem out of place in Danny Tenaglia’s rotation or being rerubbed to perfection by the guys in Deep Dish.

Den Haan – Heist
Exploding out of the gate (with an actual digital explosion… um… sound) like Georgio Moroder covering the Miami Vice theme, Den Haan carve themselves into history through a careful and brilliant reimagining of every early-’80s instrumental theme song into a surgical synthtastic strike that sounds simultaneously familiar and like nothing you’ve heard before.

There’s musical shoutouts to everything in here: drums from Can, the aforementioned Moroder, Jan Hammer’s clattering electro-drums, chanted vocals a la Bow Wow Wow or A Split Second and here and there a few piercing synth stabs recalling John Carpenter’s soundtrack work.

DJ Geometrix – What You Know About a White Wedding (T.I. King vs. Billy Idol)
As I’ve said previously, I have a weakness for hip hop. But my weakness is usually only fully exposed once said hip hop tracks in unchained from the same-old, same-old 808 beats and given a new leash on life with an unexpected life partner.

Enter DJ Geometrix, whose mind added 1+1 and got “fuck yeah,” with his reimagining of our musical world which now views T.I. and Billy Idol as co-partners in a rebirth/rekilling of rock and roll.

All files in one white-hot pop mess:
Heavy Rotation Vol. 26
(link opens in new window)

-CLT

[All music posted on Fancy Plans… is kick ass and too awesome to be contained. All music is also posted temporarily and, due to its high level of ass-kicking, should not be distributed without a prescription and care should be taken while operating heavy equipment or dancing around the living room (clothing optional, but do remember that the blinds are open/kids are still awake).
Should you wish to have your brilliant artistic statement forced back into confinement, please email me at 2timegrime@gmail.com. Feel free to leave a comment, as that will probably be noticed sooner.
By all means, if you like what you hear (and you will), please support the totally rocking artist(s) by purchasing some music or heading out to see them live.]
8 comments

  1. How you have the time to find all this killer music is beyond me.

    DJ Geometrix…”fuck yeah” indeed!


    • Those mashup artists, when they click, do some magical stuff. I think I may have to do nothing but those in an upcoming Heavy Rotation.

      Thanks for the visit and the compliments, bschooled.


  2. Does your niece work at Fancy Plans now? (Just kidding) I liked the dance flava. Reminds me of young girls being creeped out just because I’m in the club, “Hey babe, can I sweat on you? No? Wanna give me a heart attack in the parking lot?” (Smooth). I’ve got to hop on the “fuck yeah” wagon. White wedding hip hop, that’s neato!


    • Hahaha!!

      Nice one, RR. I should have thought of the “niece” angle when writing up the intro.

      However, no niece of mine would ever go for the White Wedding hip hop, so the secret is out. I fall hard for well-made pop and bootleg hip hop mixes.


  3. Happy Pearl Harbor Day, CLT.

    Funny the mention of Can. I picked up my first album by them a few days ago. Why Can? Why now? Because I’m slowly working my way through James Murphy’s record collection.

    Is Ms. Goldfrapp wearing any wearing britches in the featured photo?


    • So… Murphy just leaves his place unlocked and you drop in a pick up whatever you need from his vinyl?

      Ms. Goldfrapp is NOT wearing britches as she exchanged them for the fine piece of analog electronic equipment she is now carrying.


  4. I really like Annie. I like her blond hair. I like her Norwegianity. I like the way she reminds me of the 1980’s Madonna, what with the using of boys and sweet sexiness. So why would she be giving me the finger? Why? And I didn’t know that it was even uncool to like Kylie Minogue. Thank God you’re around to tell me that whatswhat or I’d be making an even bigger ass out of myself.

    And you’re right (of course) about everything else as well. I won’t be saying no to Alison anytime soon. I didn’t hear her mention anything about camping though. As you probably guessed my favorite rat of the pack was DJ Geometrix given my weakness for hip hop. I always loved the way Tupac blended the old with the new, throwing in some Marvin Gaye for the Chorus.


    • Annie gives you the finger because men are disposable. Still, it’s sweet of her to single you out.

      As for Kylie, I think she’s now “cool” again but may be headed for some Accelerated Celebrity Warming.

      Glad you liked the selections, Scott. I may throw some more hip hop your way in the coming weeks.



Comments are closed.

