h1

Heavy Rotation Vol. 17: 20% Shinier, Happier

October 4, 2009

Last week I kind of got into a rather nihilistic rut, music-wise. Perhaps I was overtired. Maybe it was the old debbil-blues. Maybe, just maybe, it was nothing intentional. So to head off any potential WTFs and nightmarish, um, nightmares, this week’s Heavy Rotation will feature some of the feel-goodingest music ever collected.

This is not to say that I’ve gone soft (despite Cena’s comment) or am now living la vida Gleemonex. Just an attempt to strut down the sunny side of the street without sacrificing quality for cheese.

Previous volumes here:
The Heavy Rotation Archive

cornershop%201

Cornershop – Brimful of Asha (Fatboy Slim Mix)
Norman Cook (aka Fatboy Slim) inserts some pumped-up beats into Cornershop’s breakthru hit and sends it spinning pleasantly out onto the brightly-lit dance floor. The addition that seals the deal is the breakdown, which features ping-ponging samples of the lead singer delivering shout-outs to record labels, various producers and Bollywood stars, with the refrain “on the 45” answering each one.

(Which you won’t hear in this version, unfortunately. Can’t find it online. You’ll just have to download the zip file to hear the full version. Sorry.)

Bonus: brought the word “bosom” back, however briefly.

 

Space_Raiders_-_(I_Need_The)_Disko_Doktor

Space Raiders – Disko Doktor
Another dance floor keeper, from another artist on Skint’s brilliant roster. Half-disco, half-house, half-vocoder, all fun. Good for what ails you, disko-wise. If the song itself doesn’t make you feel a little warm all over, the video will. Still nothing? Take two of these disko biscuits and call me in a day or two.

(Starting to sense a pattern here, but the video version is severely truncated. The track I have runs in the 5 minute length. So, start clicking.)

 

fatboy-slim

Fatboy Slim – Sho Nuff
A b-side from his Praise Yousingle. Singular in its pursuit of a good time, full of thumping beats, bright synth lines and some audacious sampling. All together now: “Humpin’ and bumpin’ and thumpin’ and pumpin’…” It will get stuck in your head, and for that I apologize insincerely.

(See above. Heavily edited on youtube. Full length in my [and possibly your] possession.)

 

GoTeam_450x336

The Go! Team – Huddle Formation
A band that throws everything, including the kitchen sink, into their songs. Then the whole mess gets handed to the local high school cheerleaders and pep squad and taken for a high speed joyride up the main drag. Your guess is as good as mine on the lyrics, but they do shout out a recognizable “Go Team!” here and there. The ass-kickingest good time song ever to be made by people who could probably not kick any ass whatsoever.

 

cramps_red_lo

The Cramps – Garbage Man
One of the simple joys in life is the music of the Cramps. Coming on like the lovechild of Duane Eddy and a Hammer horror film, the Cramps brought a cheerful derangement to their off-kilter rockabilly.

Their lead singer, Lux Interior (RIP) vamped, preened, deep-throated mics and strutted all over the wrong side of the musical tracks. Managing to run a band without a bassist for several years, as well as a revolving door of drummers, the Cramps managed several great singles, an occasionally great album and the continued employment of Poison Ivy Rorschach (aka Mrs. Interior) as permanent lead guitarist.

If you haven’t heard them by now, it’s never too late to start. Prepare to have your mind dragged thru the gutter by these self-described “1/2 hillbilly and 1/2 punks.” Off the splendidly titled Songs the Lord Taught Us album, which features other classics like Strychnine, T.V. Set and I Was a Teenage Werewolf.

All files unabridged, zipped and tucked into a handy, downloadable file (link opens in new window):
Heavy Rotation 17

-CLT

[All music posted on Fancy Plans… is kick ass and too awesome to be contained. All music is also posted temporarily and, due to it’s high level of ass-kicking, should not be distributed without a prescription and care should be taken while operating heavy equipment or dancing around the living room (clothing optional, but do remember that the blinds are open/kids are still awake).
Should you wish to have your brilliant artistic statement forced back into confinement, please email me at 2timegrime@gmail.com. Feel free to leave a comment, as that will probably be noticed sooner.
By all means, if you like what you hear (and you will), please support the totally rocking artist(s) by purchasing some music or heading out to see them live.]
14 comments

  1. Huh… I know this is the kind of thing that makes you wanna say, “I couldn’t care less”, but I’m let down by Fatboy Slim’s mix of ‘Brimful of Asha’. I’ve always been a fan of both and that mix left me in a treble haze of Caucasian woozy shitznhoff.


    • This is the sort of thing that makes me want to say, “The full version has the killer breakdown with the call-and-response shoutouts, but whomever posted that youtube video decided that glorious part should be hacked out for a quick education on the jackfruit.”

      That’s my disclaimer. Of course, you may be right anyway, awesome breakdown or no.


  2. I’ve loved me some Fatboy Slim since they used Christopher Walken in ‘Weapon of Choice’ in what may be the best music video of all time. Plus the name fits right in with my theme of discordant schizophrenia. This was the first time I’ve seen or heard ‘Brimful’ and I like it. I love the cracked out squirrel too.

    They were all great party tunes and it’s a party atmosphere this week in Cadiar. The fountain of wine starts Friday, so I’ll have to do some serious downloading.

    Great selection as always CLT!


    • Thanks, Scott. I felt the urge to lighten the mood after last week’s gloomfest. Enjoy the party. I’m sure after a few liters of fountained wine you should be able to bust a few Walken-esque moves yourself.

      Great to see you again, Scott.


  3. When I was in my 20’s, Fatboy Slim was my religion.

    I have also been a devout follower of Beastie Boys, Daft Punk, Benny Benasi (depending on the track) and most recently Manu Chao (just to switch things up a bit), but when I die, Norman Cook is the one who will be playing at my funeral.

    Thanks for the tunes, CLT.


    • All good choices, bschooled, although I am not familiar with Manu Chao. Norman Cook is the best diety as he subsists entirely on vodka and OJ.

      If Norman Cook plays at your funeral, I’ll be there with bells on. (Bells are still “cool” with the rave kids, right?)

      Not to wish you any ill will, of course.

      I’ve seen him twice, the best experience being his opening for the Chemical Brothers at Red Rocks in Colorado.


    • Please, allow me to introduce you…

      I hope that worked, I’m an embedder virgin (so to speak)


    • Good stuff, bschooled.

      And your youtubery was handled with the flawlessness and professionalism of an embedding hooker.


    • Ha!

      Strangely enough, my first boyfriend said something similar to me once…

      (but it was about something totally different)


    • Haha!

      Really? What’d you do? Make change for a fifty?


  4. From “Urgh! A Music War” One of my favourite moments on film…


    • Pity Lux Interior’s incredibly long torso, which made it impossible to find pants that fit just right.


  5. Have you heard Cornershop’s new song “Who Fingered Rock and Roll”?

    It’s great fun.

    Excellent selection, CLT.


    • I’ll have to check that out, Don. For an old guy, you’re surprisingly hip.

      Thanks for stopping in.



Comments are closed.

