h1

Heavy Rotation Vol. 7

July 19, 2009

Much like the wheel in the sky, the heavy keeps on rotating. Another set of songs which will now be listed in no particular order. Feel like you’re missing out? Check out the previous entries here.

a3
Alabama 3 – Speed of the Sound of Loneliness
Best known for the Sopranos theme, this group of blues/country/electro wastrels turn in a superb bluesy track with some lovely steel guitar and (wouldn’t you know it) a shuffling electronic backbeat. Great for when you’re not feeling great.

Here’s a choice quote on their power:

“This is the first band I could ever dance to in the daytime hours without chemical assistance…and that says a lot.”
Irvine Welsh, author of Trainspotting

Come home late, come home early
Come home big when I’m feelin’ small
Come home straight, come home fucked-up
Sometimes I don’t come home at all

Chorus:
What in the world has come over me?
What in heaven’s name have I done?
I’ve broken the speed of the sound of loneliness
I’m out there running just to be on the run

You’ve a heart that burns with a fever
You’ve got a worried and a jealous mind
How can a love that’ll last forever
Leave me so damn far behind?

Tell me now

Chorus

It’s a mighty mean and dreadful sorrow
[Heartbreakin’s what it is]
It’s crossed that evil line today
[Let’s cross it together, hand-in-hand]
I can’t think about tomorrow
[Well now, who can?]
I ain’t got one word to say
[Now sing along]

 

deathinvegas

Death in Vegas – Dirge
Beautiful in a very dark way. Nothing but a very slow build and some haunting vocalizing by electronic go-to chanteuse Dot Allison. Has the feel of a song in search of a soundtrack, perhaps adding some impending doom to a penultimate scene, leading to a tragic denouement. Or perhaps I just like throwing around a lot of big words.

 

BRMCpicindex

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Punk Song (Whatever Happened to My Rock and Roll?)
Not actually a punk song. Full-on, actual rock from a group who greatly resemble a younger, shaplier  Jesus and Mary Chain. All tight black pants and leather, layering on cynicism and humongous riffs like the coolest friends you never had. Another nail in rock’s coffin, asking rockandroll itself, why’d you sell us out, man?

You want a part of me
You want the whole thing
You want to feel something more than I could ever bring
You want it badly
You want it tangled
I want to feel something more than I was strangled

I fell in love with the sweet sensation
I gave my heart to a simple chord
I gave my soul to a new religion
Whatever happened to you?
Whatever happened to our rock’n’roll?
Whatever happened to my rock’n’roll?

She wants it hallow
She wants it tainted
She wants to feel something more than she was naked
You want to hide away
You’re scared to touch it
I want to feel something more than I care to take

I fell in love with the sweet sensation
I gave my heart to a simple chord
I gave my soul to a new religion
Whatever happened to you?
Whatever happened to our rock’n’roll?
Whatever happened to my rock’n’roll?

You know you never decide.
Why you can’t trust their lies.
It’s so much pain you can’t describe.
There’s got to be another reason for living.

She wants your image
She wants your kiss
She wants to get inside your head and tell it like it is
You want it badly
You want it so complete
I want to feel something more cos I can’t fuckin’ breathe

 

echo

Echo & the Bunnymen – the Cutter
Classic British 80’s music, from back in the day when “alternative” actually meant something. Broke out late in their careers with a hit single, Lips Like Sugar and grabbed a few American fans with their cover of Jim “Van” Morrison’s People Are Strange for the Lost Boys soundtrack. This is an early single of theirs, catchy as fuck, with some tempo changes and a little string work.

Who’s on the seventh floor
Brewing alternatives
What’s in the bottom drawer
Waiting for things to give

Spare us the cutter
Spare us the cutter
Couldn’t cut the mustard

Conquering myself
Until I see another hurdle approaching
Say we can, say we will
Not just another drop in the ocean

Come to the free for all
With seven tapered knives
Some of them six feet tall
We will escape our lives

Spare us the cutter
Spare us the cutter
Couldn’t cut the mustard

Conquering myself
Until I see another hurdle approaching
Say we can, say we will
Not just another drop in the ocean

Am I the happy loss
Will I still recoil
When the skin is lost
Am I the worthy cross
Will I still be soiled
When the dirt is off

Conquering myself
Until I see another hurdle approaching
Say we can, say we will
Not just another drop in the ocean
Ocean

Watch the fingers close
When the hands are cold
Am I the happy loss
Will I still recoil
When the skin is lost
Am I the worthy cross
Will I still be soiled
When the dirt is off
Am I the happy loss
Will I still be soiled
When the dirt is off

 

helios

Helios Creed – Pigs on the Wing
Former member of Chrome and all-around good guy, Helios Creed presents a very well-done and truncated cover of Pink Floyd’s Pigs on the Wing. Not nearly as spacey as most of his hard-charging space rock, and without the tape manipulations and interminable 8-minute riffing common to the genre. From the Cleopatra compilation, A Saucerful of Pink: A Tribute to Pink Floyd, which is actually quite good and features some excellent covers of some of the more rare items in Pink Floyd’s catalog. And, if for no other reason, the only way to get another rare Alien Sex Fiend track (their cover of Echoes).

As always, all files in one semi-convenient zip. Click to open link in a new window.

Heavy Rotation Vol. 7 

-CLT

[All music posted on Fancy Plans… is kick ass and too awesome to be contained. All music is also posted temporarily and, due to it’s high level of ass-kicking, should not be distributed without a prescription and care should be taken while operating heavy equipment or dancing around the living room (clothing optional, but do remember that the blinds are open/kids are still awake).
Should you wish to have your brilliant artistic statement forced back into confinement, please email me at 2timegrime@gmail.com. Feel free to leave a comment, as that will probably be noticed sooner.
By all means, if you like what you hear (and you will), please support the totally rocking artist(s) by purchasing some music or heading out to see them live.]
14 comments

  1. Nice. All good. Must be something in the air as these have all had spins at my house in the last two weeks. Gotta love A3 anywhere, any place any time. A few years back while on an airplane, I heard Larry Love doing onboard audio on one of the channels. That was cool. Speed of Sound is a John Prine song I believe?

    I was playing The Soulsavers yesterday (that Mark Lanegan may be the most prolific guy in music) and was reminded of the similarity in their styles. Particularly the voice, and, of course, the religious allusions. When I first heard the Soulsavers, I thought it was A3.

    My favorite BRM tune is “Berlin” from the rather awesome Baby 81 cd.

    Thanks!


    • I’ll have to check the Soulsavers out. I dig about 50% of what A3 does, which is a pretty good ratio.

      Had no idea that was a cover. (Edna!) Thanks for the info and the pointer.

      As always, great to see you.


    • I’d suggest this one: Soulsavers – Its Not How Far You Fall Its The Way You Land

      Let me know. I can always send on stuff.


    • I’ll be doing some searching around this week. You’ll be the first to know if I hit a brick wall. Thanks again, Alan.


    • Do let me know, I can send over some files no problem.

      Looking forward to reading the new stabby.

      Have to dash out now. But will be back and ready to laugh later.

      Once again, many thanks for “The Unbearable Lightness of Being Alan”

      Make me laugh everytime I see it. Which is all the time as its up on my filing cabinet.


    • I will let you know. Or just cut out the middle man and shoot a few my way. I’ll see you when you return.

      Thanks, Alan.


  2. I know I sound like a broken record, but bless you man! Thanks to you I never have to investigate or seek out music on my own. It’s better than a goat that milks itself.


    • I once had a goat that milked itself. We both got arrested after our visit to the petting zoo.

      Glad I can hook you up, RR. Thanks for visiting.


  3. Always follow the golden rule:
    If milk comes out it’s not a pet.


  4. And forget about the collar too.


  5. I have the Saucerful of Pink album. My favorite track is Melting Euphoria’s Point Me at the Sky. I prefer it over the original. However, like most of Cleopatra’s compilations, half the tracks should be skipped.


    • That always was Cleopatra’s problem. At least 50% of anything they compliled could be thrown away, which must be why they released so many 2-disc comps.



Comments are closed.

