h1

Heavy Rotation Vol. 6

July 12, 2009

Another set of fine tracks with no particular logic binding them together. As always, all are highly recommended. Some are old favorites while others are recent headspace additions. Enjoy. And be sure and check out previous Heavy Rotation editions you may have missed…

MusicCatalog%5CZ%5CZombie%20Zombie%20-%20A%20Land%20For%20Renegades%5CZombie%20Zombie%20-%20A%20Land%20For%20Renegades

Zombie Zombie – Driving This Road Until Death Sets You Free
Hailing from France and forever in love with John Carpenter and Goblin, Zombie Zombie produce some of the best atmospheric electro on either side of the ocean. This is their debut single, which sounds like a track or two from The Thing soundtrack. Oddly enough, their video agrees with that.

british-sea-power%20copy

British Sea Power – Waving Flags
A soaring, anthemic tune that falls somewhere between Pulp’s Common People and the Killer’s Read My Mind. It also travels somewhat adjacent to the Arcade Fire’s work only with much less latent busking and sincerity. A wide-open, unabashed pop anthem with a twist of bitter snark.

r-56676-1130524148

Finitribe – I Want More (Row Row Row the Boat Mix)
A proto-industrial dance outfit that saw a majority of their work released on Chicago’s Wax Trax label, Finitribe are perhaps most notable for being Chris Connelly’s first project. Despite his later work with Pigface, Ministry and the Revolting Cocks, Connelly tends to be a bit more melodic and introspective when helming his own ship. Have fun trying to get the synth work out of your head after listening to their update of the 1976 Can tune.

diadelostoadies

Toadies – Possum Kingdom
A swaggering thug of a love/obsession/murder song, with a little religious warp thrown in. A huge set of riffs and hooks help drag the listener under, while the lead singer repeats what you may have thought was a rhetorical question four minutes ago: “Do you want to die?” Catchy as hell, and twice as dark.

I’m not gonna lie
I’ll not be a gentleman
Behind the boathouse
I’ll show you my dark secret

I’m not gonna lie
I want you for mine
My blushing bride
My lover, be my lover yeah

Don’t be afraid
I don’t mean to scare you
So help me Jesus

I can promise you
You will stay as beautiful
With dark hair
And soft skin, forever
Forever

Make up your mind
Make up your mind and I promise you
I will treat you well
My sweet angel
So help me Jesus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5Cf5OusjrQ

333

TV on the Radio – Wolf Like Me
The best love song ever written from the viewpoint of a werewolf. The lyrics are spine tingling and the tune itself rocks harder than this band ever has and probably, ever will again. Thunderous, spacious and brutal with some of the most wonderfully twisted lyrics you’ll ever find yourself singing along to.

Say say my playmate
Won’t you lay your hands on me
Mirror my malady
Transfer my tragedy

Got a curse I cannot lift
Shines when the sunset shifts
When the moon is round and full
Gotta bust that box gotta gut that fish

My mind’s aflame

We could jet in a stolen car
But I bet we wouldn’t get too far
Before the transformation takes
And blood lust takes and crave gets slaked

My mind has changed
My body’s frame, but God I like it
My heart’s aflame
My body’s strained but God I like it

Charge me your day rate
I’ll turn you out in kind
When the moon is round and full
Gonna teach you tricks that’ll blow your Mongrel mind

Baby doll I recognize
You’re a hideous thing inside
If ever there were a lucky kind it’s
You you you you

I know its strange, another way to get to know you
You’ll never know unless we go, so let me show you
I know its strange, another way to get to know you
We’ve got to move, here comes the moon
So let it show you, show you now

Dream me, oh dreamer
Down to the floor
Open my hands and let them
Weave onto yours

Feel me, completer
Down to my core
Open my heart and let it
Bleed onto yours

Feeding on fever
Down on all fours
Show you what all the
Howlin’s for

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTy-e6qEWRE

All files in one zip. Link will open in new window – Heavy Rotation Vol. 6

-CLT

[All music posted on Fancy Plans… is kick ass and too awesome to be contained. All music is also posted temporarily and, due to it’s high level of ass-kicking, should not be distributed without a prescription and care should be taken while operating heavy equipment or dancing around the living room (clothing optional, but do remember that the blinds are open/kids are still awake).
Should you wish to have your brilliant artistic statement forced back into confinement, please email me at 2timegrime@gmail.com. Feel free to leave a comment, as that will probably be noticed sooner.
By all means, if you like what you hear (and you will), please support the totally rocking artist(s) by purchasing some music or heading out to see them live.]
9 comments

  1. Great stuff as always. Never heard of finitribe, so I’m looking forward to giving it some heavy rotation. Pleased as punch to see The Toadies (they come from the water), I was worried that when I offered them up in lieu of The Pixies during our negotiations that you were scoffing heartily. They do a live cover of The Pixies “Where Is My Mind”


    • Hahahaha! I fucking forgot to sign out! Ahh, Sundays… Nicely said, York! Now get your medication sorted out!


    • Aha! Beautiful. Welcome to Fancy Plans, Dick “York” Mills. Any relation to Don “Puppy” Mills?

      Cannot argue with the awesome power of the Toadies, no matter if it comes from an aged avatar or the head of a puppy.

      Finitribe run the same path as A Certain Ratio. Of the two, I think A Certain Ratio has the stronger work. But Chris Connelly’s solo work is pretty strong, earning him comparisons to Bowie and Scott Walker. Which is a little unexpected considering his day job with Ministry.

      Nice to see you, Alan/York. Come back anytime. And as anyone.


  2. Thanks you much for that. Sincerely! I LOVED the Zombie Zombie video. I can’t believe they had Buzzer with the Joe’s, (since he was a dreadnok) and Shipwreck was totally out of his element. It was great to see William “Refrigerator” Perry too. I had forgotten he’d joined the Joe’s for a short time, must have been after the induction of Sgt. Slaughter. After you let that guy in, how can you say no to anyone after that.


    • Glad you dug the video, RR. I wonder how GI Joe recruiting went…

      “It’s not so much an elite military outfit as it is a merchandising dream. Do you like posing for photos?”

      “Your military background is not needed or even particularly wanted. Are you able to shoot at other humans? Don’t worry, you won’t actually hit them or kill them. We just are looking for men with distinctive features, a catchy nickname and the ability to “look busy,” weapon-wise.”


  3. I guess I wouldn’t make it as a “Joe”… damn it!


  4. The Toadies is the only band I had heard of in this rotation…clearly, I need to get out more or just be fucking younger. Impressive CLT.


    • Thanks, FJ. But why go out? Just head over here once a week from the comfort of your computer. And if you think my stuff’s obscure, God help you if you begin talking to that dog, Alpo…



Comments are closed.

