h1

Heavy Rotation v.3

June 21, 2009

I was trying to build a summer theme for this edition of Heavy Rotation, but nothing seemed to hold these five tracks together. Not even my usual gossamer strands of bullshit.

So… without further ado: five completely unrelated tracks, held together by the simple fact that they all are guaranteed to kick some audio ass.

bpaalbum

Brighton Port Authority – Toe Jam.mp3
Fatboy Slim’s latest project, an all-star jam session of a band, featuring the likes of David Byrne, Dizzee Rascal, Iggy Pop, Ashley Beedle and Simon Thornton. This particular track features the first two on the list, in a very summery and bouncy tune dealing with life in general (women, booze, no particular plans…)

Bonus video:

mgmt-kids-soulwax

MGMT – Kids (Soulwax Mix).mp3
Brooklyn’s MGMT’s song of low-key environmental awareness (…control yourself/take only what you need from it) has the hell remixed out of it by Belgian knob twiddlers, Soulwax. Starts out rather light on its feet, before a propulsive beat and some filter fuckery takes it into tough-as-nails territory. There’s a relative return to sanity towards the middle as Soulwax drops it down to just the vocals for a momentary breather. And then the beating commences, this time with more digital cowbell.

Bonus video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ad-tgbtbCEM&feature=fvst

(Embedding disabled by His Satanic Majesty’s Request. Also, not the remixed version, but the original)

672

Sloan – I Am the Cancer.mp3
From Sloan’s debut album Smeared. Their first album showed some pretty heavy Ride/MBV/Blur influences, but it’s still my favorite. All fuzzy guitar and shoegazer vocals. The kind of thing I dig the most. They have since matured and went on to make several albums which have been compared favorably to the Beatles and other sixties psychedelia/folksters. Whatever. This is them at their tormented, rocking best.

Better answer
I am the cancer
Removed from you

106579

The Big Pink – Velvet.mp3
Another summery tune, but in a much different vein. This is more of the “heading back from a late night at the lake” sort of tune, evoking a high-speed drive through a winding forest road, guided only by your highbeams and what’s left of your buzz. The feeling that you stayed up too late and drank/drugged too much. Just a gorgeous windblown track, propelled along nicely by airy vocals and a killer riff (by none other than a former guitarist for Alec Empire, of all people).

Bonus:

war_2

The War on Drugs – Taking the Farm.mp3
Another lightweight, hippy-ish track about city v. country living. The lyrics are a bit elliptical but the shuffling Madchester beat recalls the glory days of the Stone Roses, Soup Dragons and, of course, the Farm. Guaranteed to stick in your head and, quite possibly, move your ass.

-CLT

[All music posted on Fancy Plans… is kick ass and too awesome to be contained. All music is also posted temporarily and, due to it’s high level of ass-kicking, should not be distributed without a prescription and care should be taken while operating heavy equipment or dancing around the living room (clothing optional, but do remember that the blinds are open/kids are still awake).
Should you wish to have your brilliant artistic statement forced back into confinement, please email me at 2timegrime@gmail.com. Feel free to leave a comment, as that will probably be noticed sooner.
By all means, if you like what you hear (and you will), please support the totally rocking artist(s) by purchasing some music or heading out to see them live.]
10 comments

  1. Thank you. Last summer I think I must have played “Time To Pretend” a hundred times.


    • You’re welcome, Alan. You’re also “comment #600!” I’ll never forget where I was when we hit our 600th comment, thanks to the WordPress comment tracking tool.

      The thing about “Velvet” is I’ve had that on my mp3 player for a couple of months. Because my player’s default setting is to play song titles in alphabetical order, I often found myself shuffling tunes on and off it long before reaching that song.

      And then I did. Holy fuck… I then played it about 8 times in a row before I let it go.

      (Speaking of Holy Fuck… I should post some of their stuff. Better yet, I should post some of the Fuck Buttons’ stuff, as I prefer them to the other Fuck band. The Buttons sound like Atari Teenage Riot crashing a HORDE concert. “Race You to Your Bedroom” is 10 minutes of psychotic build.

      Or if everyone feels a little more danceable, I could grab a few Fukkk Offf tracks.)


  2. Dancing around the living room (clothing optional, but do remember that the blinds are open/kids are still awake)

    I’m going to dance around my living room nude and get someone to put all of those cool artistic black bars in strategically placed locations.

    Like over their eyes.

    How many readers are watching that Toe Jam video in slow motion to ensure the bars are covering all of the regions they should be? I’m sure it took the original editor hours of intense scrutiny to make sure the video was rated pg.

    Just think, someone has the original unbarred video out there somewhere.


    • I’m thinking Norman Cook (aka Fatboy Slim) probably has that copy. That’s him appearing at the far right around the middle of the video, swing a rather large black bar around and around…


  3. Love the first, didn’t care for the third, couldn’t open the second.(Says “Embedding disabled by request”)


    • Damn them “Kids”. I’ll add a link.

      Thanks for stopping by, YnB.


  4. I’d like to request to be immediately embedded.


  5. I really did like the tuneage though…


    • I thought you might, just as the disclaimer says…

      Always good to see you, RR.



Comments are closed.

