h1

The Wild World of WordPress

June 16, 2009

Thanks to the miracle that is the WordPress Random Link Generator, some underattended blogs can finally receive their day in the proverbial sun. Let’s take a walk on the blog side, shall we, and discover some of the hidden gems that make up… the Wild World of WordPress!

First up: Bigguyxxl’s Weblog

bigguy

Whatever happened to bigguyxxl? His blog showed lots of potential, what with the witty tagline and opening salvo:

Wow – I am almost cutting edge – I have a blog – so 2000 isn’t it. Now to find out what to do with it …….

Not very many clues here. Let’s check the About page:

This is an example of a WordPress page, you could edit this to put information about yourself or your site so readers know where you are coming from. You can create as many pages like this one or sub-pages as you like and manage all of your content inside of WordPress.

Still nothing. Let’s check the Drafts:

I just entered a deathrace. So 2000, isn’t it. I’m excited and a little nervous as I have never raced or died before (at least not professionally). Follow me on Twitter (@bigguyxxlrip) for my first and last twit (is that how you say that?). Peace.

I just finished upgrading Windows. It’s so 2000. Needless to say, it sucks. But the price was right and I shouldn’t need an upgrade until the year 3000.

I’ve just sent another killer cyborg back in time. It’s T-2000. I’m hoping that this will finally destroy the threat posed by Edward Furlong and his sub-Keanu acting ability. There is a slight chance that this will cause a split timeline at the point of insertion. Oh, the duality! If all else fails we can drop back and reboot.

I just had to post to raise some awareness about the latest outrage. Have you heard about this outrage? I’m outraged. I can understand how some people might take the other side of this issue. That’s duality for you. I once felt the same way but a personal experience raised my awareness.

This is an example of a WordPress personal experience. You can edit this to reflect an experience that affected you personally. Some adjectives you may consider using are: life-changing, transforming, traumatizing, neutering, mind-altering, years of intense therapy, bling-y.

WordPress can help you manage your personal experiences by creating subpages and archives. Be sure to tag your personal experiences for cross-referencing and searchability. Some popular tags include: tripping balls with Neil Patrick Harris, bound and gagged, bitter legal dispute, class-action lawsuit, pointless anecdote, windy diatribe, dear penthouse.

WordPress.com – we can remember it for you wholesale.

Godspeed, bigguyxxl. You have taught us all that with a little perseverance and free time, anyone can create and abandon a blog.

Our second featured blog: Phil Alper: 4U2C

philalper

The outgrowth of one man’s plan to climb to the upper echelon of men’s fashion through a series of informative posts letting readers know what is on sale, when it is on sale, when it is no longer on sale and other useful info. Except, of course, where the store is located or what hours it is open.

In some sort of web 2.0 magic, a simple WordPress theme has been turned into a reasonable facsimile of the finest in Geocities/Angelfire website design. Phil also fits in time to answer some tough menswear-related questions like this one:

comments

Great work, Phil! You handled that softball beautifully. But so many questions remain unanswered, like these:

  • My stepbrother and I are looking to rent tuxedos for job interviews and whatnot. Does Bacarach offer this service, presumably with a wide selection and competitive pricing?
  • I’m entering a deathrace and I need to look sharp. I need something that will stand out, whether in the winner’s circle or in a well-appointed coffin. I am a large gentleman with a split-personality. Is Bacharach equipped to handle the sartorial needs of the big-and-tall blogger/driver?
  • I realize I have many choices in long-distance carriers. Can you tell me why, in this day and age, I would even consider paying for long-distance?
  • I’m looking to be promoted at my job (I work in Men’s Fashion). Do you have any ideas on which sort of suck-up questions I should be asking my supervisor, to better highlight the fount of knowledge and skill he has assembled in his first few (incredible!) months as best manager ever? (Phil. It’s me, John. Love your tie!)

Keep on blogging, Phil. The world needs a firm but informative hand to guide it through the icy seas of Men’s Fashion.

(A personal note: My good friend and fellow blogger, RF Interference, has often wondered exactly what a Chromeo fans looks like. I think this shot is as good as any.)

Phil Alper: 4U2C - clotheshorse and Chromeo fan

Phil Alper: 4U2C - clotheshorse and Chromeo fan

-CLT

14 comments

  1. So…based on your observations here…I would like to hope my blog remains out of the random blog generator…I don’t think it could stand up to the blatant, honest, no holds barred scrutiny…


    • Yeah, the same with mine. Brutal!

      Thanks for stopping in, Jessica.


  2. Little known fact, bigguyxxl wrote “The Boys Are Back In Town”


    • Man, that song has more co-writers than a Paul Verhoeven script.

      Thanks for the info and comment, Alan.


  3. I read this blog 2000 times. Upon the last “run through” it said Paul is dead. I’m like 2000 confused.


    • Of all the Beatles I wanted dead, Paul somehow manages to stay alive. And rich. And all despite the prophetic.

      Wonderful comment, RR. Always great to see you.


  4. I’m going to assume that’s Chromeo. They sure know how to coin a phrase. “Tenderoni,” indeed.


  5. Should this happen to grab the attention of Mssrs. Bigguy and Alper 4U2C, let me throw out a couple of suggestions:

    @Bigguyxxl – Sorry. Not much to work with here. I have taken up and quickly abandoned several hobbies in my life. I only wish smoking had been one of them.

    @PhilAlper – First, clean up your website. As the puported human/blog face of a men’s fashion boutique, your site should probably look a lot sleeker.

    You want to be the face of Bacharach? Compel me. Tell me why I should care.

    Tell me about the guy who came in looking for a couple of ties and left with a few thousand dollars worth of clothing.

    Tell me about the guy who got his online order screwed up but you and your crew rode to the rescue, Nordstroms-style.

    Tell me what you do better. Differently. Let us peek inside. Humanize your company and co-workers.

    Aim for the top. Don’t just regurgitate ad copy and man the sale on/off switch. Talk to other stores. Get their stories. Force the corporate office to notice you.

    Update. Notify. Educate. Entertain. Impress.

    Make your site so powerful it can’t be ignored. Make them link to you from the Bacharach.com website. (By the way, talk to your web guru. The online Bacharach charge card app has an expired security license.)

    Phil – it’s a big world out there. Seize it. If you think the competition’s tight in men’s fashion, just wait until you’re vying for readers in blogland.

    Or maybe, just maybe, consider me just another asshole on just another blog, taking cheap shots behind my anonymity. This may be the safest bet of all.


  6. CLT,

    My friend… I thought you made these up.
    You didn’t. You’ve impressed me (yet again)with not only your observations, but your advice to to the bloggers is excellent!

    By the way, as a side note.. and I don’t know why this always happens to me, but I typod your name on accident, and ended up with an I in the middle… wow. glad I saw that before I hit the submit button…

    I have to start typing slower, and I really need to stop typing in the dark.

    And by the way again, You weren’t over the top at all.


    • Thanks for the compliments, CC.

      So, you type “CILT” a lot? Could happen to anybody. But be careful with that unlit typing. I know the feeling of frustration that comes from not being able to edit your comments.

      There you are, making a devastatingly great point or dropping the best punchline evar(!), and one little typo is all anyone will remember.

      That’s the internet for ya. (Bigguy & Phil – more advice.)


    • Feel free to edit any of my typos for me CILT.

      Ooops, there I go again.


  7. […] Fancy Plans… and Pants to Match We Are Casanova Frankenstein « NIMF Presents: Blacklisted Video Games Garage Tuesdays: Special Thursday Phil Alper Edition June 17, 2009 Kick out the hems! [Snare] Brothers and sisters! […]


  8. Aww, but wouldn’t you have egg on your face if it turned out Bigguyxxxwhatever really was detained from blogging by his wars with cyborgs and such? I mean, I know that every time I make fun of somebody, and then it turns out that they’re ACTUALLY deathracing robotfighters, I really feel goofy.


    • Very true, lulu.

      Bigguyxxl is probably off rescuing orphans in Rwanda while helping them throw off the yoke of their oppressors, with a endangered tropical bird on his shoulder and a cure for cancer in his back pocket.

      Good lord, I hate him already.

      Thanks for the great comment, lulu.



Comments are closed.

