h1

Talking Smack

February 8, 2009

bayer_heroin_bottle

What’s the difference between a thief and a junkie?

A thief will steal your money. A junkie will help you look for it.

William S. Burroughs understood this mentality, because he lived it. I’m not sure what process is involved that turns a junkie into a folk hero. Especially a junkie who killed his wife during a drug-addled reenactment of William Tell’s trick shot.

Perhaps it was his way with words:

You pick up this working girl
hooked on smack
hustles and scores
that’s all I do she says
she says, ten bucks for head, fifteen for half-and-half
three hits a day a thirty-five per

you say
that’s at least seven tricks a day
but she says, sometimes I get lucky
once a guy gave me a bill and a half just to eat me
only time I ever came

you think you can save her

you hock your color tv
it keeps her off the street a whole day
your typewriter for one jolt
then your shotgun, your watch
a week later you say, listen I’m a little short
but she says, no scratch no snatch
you say, look it is better to give
she says, beat off creep

One night they bust you on the street in your skivvies
trying to sell your shoes
you tell them who you are but they nail you
she happens by
she says, christ you look fucked
she says, hang tough

you don’t say anything
you just think

what a bum rap for a nice sensitive guy like me

Love to credit this monologue properly, but I am only familiar with it from its use in this track. In the original, PQM dropped the entire sample into an extended drop. King Unique drops Burroughs all over the track with some added effects tweaking on the “vocals”.:

PQM – You Are Sleeping (King Unique Mix)

All mp3s are only temporarily available. If you like what you hear, please support the artists. If you wish to have a track removed, please contact me at 2timegrime@gmail.com.

-CLT

